Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone! Total noob here but I have literally been researching this for 2 days and cannot, for the life of me, figure it out...
It's all kind of a long story so please bare with me. I feel like it was all a learning experience and that it might help someone else down the road (no pun attended).

First of all, I own a 2014 Cruze with manual transmission. I bought it brand new and usually get my oil change and maintenance at the dealership. Yesterday, before leaving for vacation, we got an oil change at a popular quick lube shop due to the dealership not having any openings before we were leaving.

We started our 666 mile trip (no joke. Our home to destination... Bad sign from the beginning). Several hours into the trip, we got a "low oil pressure" warning. We pulled off, opened the hood, and saw oil sprayed everywhere (hence all the oil in the pictures). Dipstick was bone dry. We were literally in the middle of nowhere plus it was raining and like midnight so we opted to fill it back up and get back on the road, hoping to get closer to civilization.
Of course we got an hour farther and we're once again forced to pull over and refill with oil. We managed to get to a large town and checked into a hotel for the night.

The next morning I started looking under the hood and attempting to figure out where the oil was coming from. I touched a bunch of things looking for something loose or misplaced or broken. While doing this, I accidentally hit the piece in the picture and it seemed to like click into place. I thought, "huh... Weird. Maybe that was the problem..." I didn't find anything else obvious so we filled it back up and drove to the same chain of oil change places, hoping they would troubleshoot and not charge us.