Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. This is my first year with my Cruze 2.0L TD . I have been running premium D2 with the prescribed dosage of opti-lube. Here in Illinois we are currently seeing -7° degree temps and I was wondering if opti-lube is compatible with diesel 911? I have already needed a new battery and I want to avoid any diesel gelling that could happen. I have no way to get a block heater in this winter. But anyway. I was wondering what you like to use in sub zero temperatures for additives.

Thanks!

·
Registered
3,446 Posts
I drive semi's. I use howes. 1 bottle is good for 250 gallons. That should last you guys at least a couple of months.

Block heaters don't do anything for fuel gell. Block heaters don't even tie in to the fuel system. You'll still have to worry about the tank, filter, and lines that run from the tank to engine and back.

BTW, the semi drivers are saying they add kerosene or unleaded gas or something else. I'd have to find that thread again. They add 1 gallon to each tank. Semi's usually have 2 tanks and hold a total of 200 - 300 gallons.

·
Premium Member
2,217 Posts
I kinda think fuel additives are similiar to vitamins and over the counter supplements, may not need either and folks use or take them without doing enough research to determine 1. If they are needed at all 2. If needed which ones are best for your application and compatibility to your car or body. I haven’t added anything to car fuel system on cruze and don’t plan too.

Oh and on a side note, if I don’t have to start a car in sub zero weather I just do not. It got down to -11 last night and is a balmy -7 as I write this, if I can just stay home I do, it’s just safer and better not to be starting a car so cold, just because it starts doesn’t mean it should. Smiles

·
Super Moderator
7,804 Posts