Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone,

Currently I own a 2012 Mazda3 hatchback. I have a lengthy commute (~40 miles each way, 80% highway) and make a monthly trip from Chicago to Minneapolis to visit my boyfriend in grad school. This means my Mazda already has 110k miles over about 3.5 years of driving. I love the reliability and handling -- I've only had to do routine maintenance so far.

However, I also have a joint condition and after 3 years the car is wearing on me. The characteristics that make the car so fun means the steering is heavy at times (and make my elbows and hands ache some days) and the ride can be harsh (hard on my neck and back). I'm a part time grad student myself, and would love to find a car that doesn't leave me feeling beat by the end of the day so I can focus on my studies.

The Cruze has gotten great reviews for having a smooth, quiet ride, and I like the personality and fuel economy of the diesel engine. However, the diesel reliability is a bit worrisome based on some of the posts here.

Whatever I buy for my next car, I want to make sure it's a decision I can stick with long-term. Are my concerns about reliability overblown? Has the parts availability issue been resolved?

·
Administrator
25,596 Posts
I think you're an ideal candidate for the CTD. If you're concerned take a look at the Gen 2 LT Automatic.

·
Registered
246 Posts
7 month owner: (others such as @diesel have a LOT more miles and experience than I do)..................